Current Archaeology Awards

Current Archaeology Awards

Every year, the Current Archaeology Awards celebrate the projects and publications that made the pages of the magazine over the past 12 months, and the people judged to have made outstanding contributions to archaeology.

These awards are voted for entirely by the public – there are no panels of judges.

The winners of the 2018 Current Archaeology Awards were announced on 23 February as part of Current Archaeology Live! 2018.

The winners in each category were:

Archaeologist of the Year:
Hella Eckardt

Book of the Year:
Lost Landscapes of Palaeolithic Britain (Edited by Mark White)

Research Project of the Year:
Blick Mead: exploring the ‘first place’ in the Stonehenge landscape (University of Buckingham)

Rescue Project of the Year: 
An Iron Age chariot burial: excavating a square-barrow cemetery at Pocklington (MAP Archaeological Practice)


For more information on all the nominees, click on the links below:

Archaeologist of the Year
Book of the Year
Research Project of the Year
Rescue Project of the Year