Location: Kinneil Estate, Bo’ness, Falkirk
Dates: 21st July to 4th August 2018
Cost: None. Transport & food not provided.
Training / Experience: No experience necessary
Falkirk Local History SocietyName:
Falkirk Musuem, Callendar House, Falkirk, FK1 3EZEmail: [email protected]Telephone:
01324 503783Web: N/A
Kinneil House with the lost ha-ha next to the gate piers in 1910 [Photo Credit: Falkirk Local History Society]
This season’s excavation will explore the 17th century designed landscape of Kinneil Park. The House was owned by the Dukes & Duchesses of Hamilton and was erected by the Earl of Arran in the 1560s. The grounds were laid out afresh in the 1690s and included a series of features, such as the walled garden, orchard, ha-ha, kennels, etc that we will be investigating. Trenches will also be placed to see if an earlier house existed.