Archaeology Awards

Archaeology Awards

Every year, the Current Archaeology Awards celebrate the projects and publications that have made the pages of Current Archaeology over the 12 months, and the people judged to have made outstanding contributions to archaeology.

These awards are voted for entirely by the public – there are no panels of judges.

2019 Awards

The nominees for the 2019 Current Archaeology Awards will be announced on 1 December 2018, and voting will then open on this website.


2018 Awards

The winners of the 2018 Current Archaeology Awards were announced on 23 February as part of Current Archaeology Live! 2018.

The winners in each category were:

Archaeologist of the Year:
Hella Eckardt

Book of the Year:
Lost Landscapes of Palaeolithic Britain (Edited by Mark White)

Research Project of the Year:
Blick Mead: exploring the 'first place' in the Stonehenge landscape (University of Buckingham)

Rescue Project of the Year:
An Iron Age chariot burial: excavating a square-barrow cemetery at Pocklington (MAP Archaeological Practice)

Click on the links below to read about the nominees in each category:

Archaeologist of the Year
Book of the Year
Research Project of the Year
Rescue Project of the Year


Archaeologist of the Year 2012

We are delighted to announce that Tony Wilmott is the winner of this year’s prestigious Archaeologist of the Year award.   Currently Senior Archaeologist for English Heritage, Tony Wilmott is one of the leading authorities on Hadrian’s Wall and the amphitheatres of Roman Britain. Specialising in the Roman and Medieval periods, he has recently excavated […]


Rescue Dig of the Year 2012

Congratulations to Sea of Troubles: Scotland’s Eroding Heritage, winner of the Rescue Dig of the Year 2012. Featured in CA 259, Scotland’s frequently turbulent weather has uncovered archaeological treasures like Skara Brae but can also cause terrible damage, with many sites now threatened by coastal erosion. For the last decade SCAPE (Scottish Coastal Archaeology and […]


Book of the Year 2012

This year’s winner of Book of the Year 2012 is  Becoming an Archaeologist: a guide to professional pathways by Joe Flatman, as reviewed in issue 260 of Current Archaeology. Becoming an Archaeologist: a guide to professional  pathways  —  CA  260 Joe Flatman This free and frank discussion of life as an archaeologist in the UK, […]


Research Project of the Year 2012

This year the Research Project of the Year 2012 awards went to  Massacre at Fin Cop, featured in CA 255. Iron Age hillforts are commonly viewed as peaceful — if monumental — settlements, statements of prestige and power rather than military fortifications. But harrowing evidence from a Derbyshire site suggests these communities could come to […]

Archaeologist of the Year 2011

We are delighted to announce Sam Moorhead as our official Archaeologist of the Year 2011. Sam is the National Finds Advisor for Iron Age and Roman coins in the Department of Portable Antiquities at the British Museum. But he is much more than that: his many achievements and the range of his contributions to archaeology are truly phenomenal.

Book of the Year 2011

Current Archaeology‘s Book of the Year 2011 is awarded to Julian Bowsher and Pat Miller for The Rose and the Globe: Playhouses of Shakespeare. This has been a year filled with fabulous reading. So many great books have crossed our desks! We have done our best to review as many as possible, and we hope you have had a chance to read some.

Research Project of the Year 2011

This year, the much coveted Research Project of the Year prize went to The Ness of Brodgar, and was accepted on behalf of the team by Nick Card, Senior Projects Manager at the Orkney Research Centre for Archaeology.

Rescue Dig of the Year 2011

Congratulations to the team behind the Frome Hoard, which was named as Current Archaeology‘s Rescue Dig of the Year 2011.

The award was accepted by Sam Moorhead on behalf of the project team, including Dave Crisp (finder), Katie Hinds and Anna Booth (Finds Liaison Officers), Bob Croft and Alan Graham (excavators).


Current Archaeology Awards 2010

Current Archaeology  is pleased to announce the winners of their 2010 awards, presented 27 February 2010, at the British Museum as part of the Archaeology 2010 conference.  

1 2 3 4