Archaeology Awards

Archaeology Awards

Every year, the Current Archaeology Awards celebrate the projects and publications that have made the pages of Current Archaeology over the 12 months, and the people judged to have made outstanding contributions to archaeology.

These awards are voted for entirely by the public – there are no panels of judges.

2019 Awards

The nominees for the 2019 Current Archaeology Awards will be announced on 1 December 2018, and voting will then open on this website.


2018 Awards

The winners of the 2018 Current Archaeology Awards were announced on 23 February as part of Current Archaeology Live! 2018.

The winners in each category were:

Archaeologist of the Year:
Hella Eckardt

Book of the Year:
Lost Landscapes of Palaeolithic Britain (Edited by Mark White)

Research Project of the Year:
Blick Mead: exploring the 'first place' in the Stonehenge landscape (University of Buckingham)

Rescue Project of the Year:
An Iron Age chariot burial: excavating a square-barrow cemetery at Pocklington (MAP Archaeological Practice)

Click on the links below to read about the nominees in each category:

Archaeologist of the Year
Book of the Year
Research Project of the Year
Rescue Project of the Year


Book of the Year 2015

This year’s winner of the Book of the Year award is The History of Archaeology, edited by Paul Bahn. Exploring how archaeology is practised in countries ranging across Europe, the Far East, Africa, and Latin America “ often prompting surprising comparisons — this thought-provoking book examines how archaeology is not always politically neutral, and closes with […]


Book of the Year 2014

This year has brought many excellent books through  our door. The following titles are those we feel deserve  special recognition.


Archaeologist of the Year 2014

We always look forward to escaping from the office to meet archaeologists working to uncover the secrets of the past – their hard work and dedication is always inspiring. This year we would like to put forward the following individuals for special recognition of their work.


Archaeologist of the Year 2013

We are delighted to announce that Phil Harding is the winner of this year’s prestigious Archaeologist of the Year award.


Book of the Year 2013

This year’s winner of the Book of the Year award is Roman Camps in Britain by Rebecca Jones, as reviewed in issue 268 of Current Archaeology.


Research Project of the Year 2013

This year, the Research Project of the Year award went to Richard III: the search for the last Plantagenet king, featured in CA 272.


Rescue Dig of the Year 2013

Congratulations to Folkestone: Roman villa or Iron Age oppidum?, winner of the Rescue Dig of the Year category in the Current Archaeology Awards 2013.

1 2 3 4