Archaeology Awards

Archaeology Awards

Every year, the Current Archaeology Awards celebrate the projects and publications that have made the pages of Current Archaeology over the 12 months, and the people judged to have made outstanding contributions to archaeology.

We will be announcing the nominees for the awards in Current Archaeology, and we will list the nominees here on the Current Archaeology website, where you will be able to cast your votes.

These awards are voted for entirely by the public – there are no panels of judges – so we encourage you to get involved and choose the projects, publications, and people who you would like to win.

The main prizes are awarded in the following four categories: Book of the Year; Research Project of the Year; Rescue Dig of the Year; and Archaeologist of the Year.

Find out more about voting in this year's Archaeology Awards


Archaeologist of the Year 2016

We are delighted to announce that Roberta Gilchrist is the winner of this year’s prestigious Archaeologist of the Year award.   Philip Crummy Philip Crummy is Director and Principal Archaeologist at Colchester Archaeological Trust, a position he has held since 1971. In that time he has dedicated his career to putting Roman Colchester (Camulodunum) on […]


Research Project of the Year 2015

This year, the Research Project of the Year award went to Maryport’s Mystery Monuments. Accepting the award were Ian Haynes and Tony Wilmott, of Newcastle University. They were recognised for their work at Maryport, where ongoing excavations at the 2nd century Roman fort have revealed the enigmatic traces of a huge timber building, whose post […]


Archaeologist of the Year 2015

We are delighted to announce that Michael Fulford is the winner of this year’s prestigious Archaeologist of the Year award. Professor Michael Fulford  has directed excavations at Silchester, a major Roman and Iron Age site in Hampshire, for almost 20 years. The project ended last summer, and has revealed a wealth of information about how […]


Rescue Dig of the Year 2015

Congratulations to First Impressions: discovering the earliest footprints in Europe, winner of the Rescue Dig of the Year category in the 2015 Current Archaeology Awards. The award was accepted by Professor Chris Stringer of the Natural History Museum and Dr Simon Lewis of Queen Mary, University of London, on behalf of the Happisburgh Project team […]


Book of the Year 2015

This year’s winner of the Book of the Year award is The History of Archaeology, edited by Paul Bahn. Exploring how archaeology is practised in countries ranging across Europe, the Far East, Africa, and Latin America “ often prompting surprising comparisons — this thought-provoking book examines how archaeology is not always politically neutral, and closes with […]


Book of the Year 2014

This year has brought many excellent books through  our door. The following titles are those we feel deserve  special recognition.


Archaeologist of the Year 2014

We always look forward to escaping from the office to meet archaeologists working to uncover the secrets of the past – their hard work and dedication is always inspiring. This year we would like to put forward the following individuals for special recognition of their work.

1 2 3 4